Not Why I’m Doing This

Since announcing my decision to take on this fairly extensive challenge I have been bombarded with questions, comments, and even judgments from my friends and family.  I thought it might be helpful to address those concerns now at the onset of my year, rather than try to deal with them later on.

This is not a soapbox.  I’m not trying to preach the green, convert conservatives, or judge anyone else’s lifestyle choice.  This is all about my lifestyle.  If you can find something to take from it, that’s awesome.  If you want to hate, well…wouldn’t you rather hold hands and sing “kumbaya” instead?  Truly, I’m not trying to influence anyone but myself.

This is not a money-saving ploy.  While I’m sure my credit card will be thanking me at the end of the year, I’m hoping my creativity will be thanking me more.

This has nothing to do with supporting  PETA, or any other organization.  Honestly, I would be a terrible PETA supporter anyways, considering I am the proud owner of a wonderful little puppy named Moxy.  (Yes, PETA is against pets.)

Seriously, how could you not love this face!

Courtesy of A.K. Photography http://www.facebook.com/Ak.Digital.Pro

I’ve already said that I do give to certain environmental and animal rights agencies, and I will be putting those under scrutiny for the next year, but this isn’t about that either.

So what is this about?  Challenging myself.  Really challenging myself to make a difference with my life.  It’s going to be hard, probably really  hard.  I think the challenge will be fun, and ultimately exactly what I need at this point in my life.

2 thoughts on “Not Why I’m Doing This

Leave a Reply

