Wishes on Cupcakes

I am not really a birthday person.  Actually, that’s slightly inaccurate.  I love celebrating the birthdays of my friends and family, but when it comes to celebrating my own birthday, I’m not so into it.  It is, historically, a bad day for me.  I’m not just saying this in the way that girls do when they don’t want to admit they’re getting older or fishing for compliments from their closest frenemies.  I’m talking more about the “Alexander and the terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day” kind of thing.

What?  You don’t believe me?

Two years ago a tourist left his camera bag outside of a downtown mosque.  This resulted in the bomb squad shutting down a major road, which happened to be my main line into the city, both by bus and car.  The rerouted traffic caused such confusion that instead of arriving to work early enough to treat myself to a lovely latte and enjoy my morning, I was 2 hours late for work and 20 minutes late for a meeting with my boss’s boss.  I was frantic and nervous the rest of the day, and when I left to go home I found the city traffic had still not recovered.  It took an hour to get home (which was 12 miles away at the time) and I was in no mood to cook, so I ordered delivery…which took almost 2 hours to arrive.  By the time it got there I had surpassed hungry and was squarely in the realm of exhausted, so I pulled out the slice of cake I had ordered, stashed the rest in the fridge, said a quick “happy birthday to me” and went to bed.  Sadly, this is about par for the course.

So when my mom asked how I wanted to celebrate my birthday, I said I wanted to bake cupcakes.  I was told it was sad to bake my own birthday cupcakes, and for a lot of people that may be true, but I love to bake.  I find it relaxing, calming, and fun.  So yes, I baked my own gluten free Black Forest birthday cupcakes, which was a new recipe for me.  (I also got a lovely sushi dinner and a local vineyard tour, but more on that later.)  They turned out to be lovely (despite my substituting muffin papers for proper cupcake papers), and I absolutely stuck a candle in one and made a wish.

 

Oh, and for the record, today was actually a pretty good day.

Gluten Free Black Forest Cupcakes 

Ingredients

  • 2 1/8 cups gluten free flour mixture
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 3/4 cups unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 tablespoon gluten free vanilla
  • 2 cans potted cherries (cherry pie filling)
  • 3 cups whipping cream
  • 1/3 cup icing sugar

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 farenheit.
Mix first 10 ingredients together, and beat until well blended.  Pour into cupcake papers, and let sit for 5 minutes so batter can settle.
Bake for 25 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean.  Allow to cool for 10 minutes before removing from pan.
Combine whipping cream and icing sugar in a chilled, medium-sized bowl.  Beat at high speed until stiff peaks form.
Using a piping bag (or a ziplock bag with a corner cut off!), pipe frosting onto cupcakes
Top with cherries!

If you enjoy cupcakes with filling, remove a portion of the cupcake with a teaspoon while they’re still hot.  Mix half of the icing with with some cherry filling, and spoon into the center of the cupcake.  Replace removed portion of cupcake, and allow to cool before piping frosting as mentioned above.

4 thoughts on “Wishes on Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

