WEN for the Win!

Infomercials are a dangerous thing.  They are almost a form of brainwashing with they way they play repeatedly on every channel at all hours of the day and night.  Not to mention the several home shopping channels which have built their empires entirely around the infomercial concept.  You fight the “but wait! there’s more!” instinct for a while, but after enough exposure you start to think “Hey, that product really does sound wonderful.”  Once you hit that point, you’re done for.

This is how I discovered WEN.  Through repeated twelve-minute commercials, QVC airings, and even adds on many of the sites I visit on a daily basis I hit that point of no return, and found myself ordering the product.  I was more than pleasantly surprised.  After all, who among us hasn’t been duped by the infamous infomercial ploys.  (Don’t lie.  You know there’s a tub of OxiClean in your laundry room.)  This product promises natural body, shinier appearance, and stronger, healthier, more manageable hair in only the first wash.  The more you use it, the better your hair gets.  Even when placing my order I was skeptical, but when it arrived at my door I followed the directions and used the product as it’s creator, Chaz Dean, directed.  Sure enough, I saw an extreme difference in my hair after the first use, and so far it’s kept its promises.  I’ve been using it religiously for about 3 months now, and I honestly can’t imagine going back to regular shampoo and conditioner.

WEN is a cleansing conditioner.  It takes the place of shampoo and conditioner in one easy step.  You also use it as your leave-in, if your hair requires it.  It makes your hair shiny, brings out natural body, and makes it extremely low-maintenance when it comes to styling.  Not that my routine was ever really high-maintenance to begin with.  Unless it’s a special occasion, it basically consists of blow drying with a round brush and velcro rollers for some extra body.  Here’s how that looked on a regular basis before WEN.

Not bad, but as you can see, I have very fine hair with very little natural body.   Now, here’s a picture after having used WEN regularly for several weeks.

 

In both pictures I styled my hair exactly the same way.  To me, the difference is staggering.  I never thought I’d see the day when my hair looked like this on a regular basis.  Seriously, same blow dryer, same round brush, same velcro rollers.  Extremely different hair.

Now I will admit that WEN is a little on the pricey side, and you can’t buy it in stores.  (You have to buy it from either QVC or WEN’s website.)  These are both downfalls, however I find the results are worth it.  What I like most is the variety they offer for all different hair types.  I use the lavender, which is designed for fine hair, but I have friends who use the pomegranate which is designed for thicker hair.  They also have options for curly, coarse, and ethnic hair.

I do know there are less expensive products that are comparable on the market.  I recently heard L’oreal makes one, which says on the bottle it’s not tested on animals.  (Although I’m not sure the individual ingredients aren’t, so take that as you will.)  WEN is listed as a vegan product, so it’s entirely cruelty-free, which for me makes it entirely worth the splurge.

Leave a Reply

