Pumpkin Week Starts With A Good Ale

It’s Fall!  That glorious time of year filled with brilliant pops of color, luxe fabrics, and of course – pumpkins.  Pumpkins are everywhere at this time of year.  They’re in our yards, pies, soup, coffee, air fresheners, shampoos, etc.  And why shouldn’t they be?  The arrival of pumpkins means the approach of Halloween, the start of the holiday season, and the promise of celebrations with friends and family.  So let’s raise our glasses in celebration of this glorious gourd! It is officially Pumpkin Week here at Chicly Green.

Ever since I was a little girl my dad would bring me home a surprise whenever he had to take a business trip: a state magnet, a collection of postcards, and one notorious occasion a pair of pink cowgirl boots that didn’t fit.  This tradition continues today, although usually it’s something more useful or grown up.  On a recent trip to New England, for example, it was a six-pack of pumpkin ale from a local microbrewery called Shipyard Brewing Company.  I have to admit I was a little dubious at first.  Pumpkin in my beer?  I wasn’t so sure I was excited about that, but dad was so proud of himself for finding me something local and consumable to send me from his trip.  So I tried it.

It was surprisingly delicious.  The pumpkin, with touches of cinnamon and nutmeg, was a perfect compliment to a pale ale.  The tastes and aromas were subtly blended, without any one flavor overpowering another.

Also, I love an excuse to use my “Redneck Beer Glass.”

Do you have a favorite brew from your local microbrewery?

Leave a Reply

